Uncategorized

Protect Women

For mother’s, daughter’s, sister’s, niece’s and your best friends.

 

Recent protests have been about race, the president and for women’s rights. Being a woman you would think i would talk about women’s rights. I want to talk about women’s protection. One in five women and one in 71 men will be raped at some point in their lives. I want to figure out a way to educate girls at an early age. The college i go to has many campuses and i am getting alert after alert about sexual assault. Speaking from personal experience. I beg of you to be proactive not reactive.

I have always wanted to figure out a way to have women’s self defense classes in high school’s. Knowing how to defend yourself going into college can make a huge difference. One in 5 women and one in 16 men are sexually assaulted while in college. It can be towards a PE credit. I’m not saying rape and sexual assault only happens in college. 2.3% of women were age 10 or younger at the time of their first rape/victimization, and 30% of women were between the ages of 11 and 17. When my incident happened, i was 13.

Imagine your daughter knowing how to offend off her attacker as you send her off to college.More than 90% of sexual assault victims on college campuses do not report the assault. More than one-third of women who report being raped before age 18 also experience rape as an adult. For me, rape is such a hard word to say. For the longest time i convinced myself, it wasn’t rape. I never reported it and i never told anyone. I finally told my mom when she took me to my first woman exam. I was afraid the doctor was going to check me out and say something to my mom. Due to recent events at my school;i went out and bought a pepper spray keychain.

As an adult and a single mother of two girls. I never want something like that to happen to me ever again. I DO NOT WANT IT TO HAPPEN TO MY GIRLS AT ALL!!. I don’t want them going through what i went through. I started taking boxing classes. I did a little brazilian jiu jitsu. I didn’t get to do if for long but it’s long enough to know how to get a grown man off of me. Enough to teach my girls when they get into high school, how to defend themselves. Do not wait until after something happens to you. If you have a daughter, a sister, a niece that you know is going into college. Buy them a pepper spray keychain. She might think you are crazy and say “come on dad” but one day, she might thank you.

 

If you are someone you know has been sexually assaulted. Go to:

National Sexual Assault Helpline Open 24 hours

1-800-656-4673

 

https://www.rainn.org

https://www.safehorizon.org

http://www.aftersilence.org

 

Statistics from http://www.nsvrc.org/sites/default/files/publications_nsvrc_factsheet_media-packet_statistics-about-sexual-violence_0.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

