Never Having a Valentine

Shanel

2/10/17

Write something about a memorable Valentine’s day.

I am not your typical girl. I could care less about Valentine’s day. Yes i have been single for every Valentine’s day but to me it is just another day. I am a single mom of two girls and my favorite thing to do is make their day on Valentine’s day. I will do anything from buy them a stuffed animal, a box of chocolate for us to share or just doing arts and crafts. My mom and i made a tradition of getting each other something for Valentine’s day. In high school i never had a boyfriend or dated anyone. She would always get me something; I know part of it was because she is my mom and she wanted too and part is because she felt bad. I always get something for my mom as well, I usually get her flowers. Growing up my dad never did anything special for my mom and i for Valentine’s day. My dad loved anything that had to do with history. The history channel and the western channel was constantly on at my house.

I was the girl who was bullied in high school. When i lived in California it was because i was fat. When i moved to Texas it was because i was from California and “i dressed funny” or i was “white trash” because i didn’t wear Hollister or Abercrombie. Girls are mean and after a day of being teased at school for not getting anything on Valentines day, i just wanted to go home. I sat on the bus on the way home, head down and just wanted to be left alone. As i walked through the doors of my house, i threw my backpack down and plopped myself on the couch. My dad was on the other couch watching the history channel, shocker i know. It was the Valentine’s day history channel special. I was glued to the Tv and soaked in everything they had to say.

St. Valentine was a priest who served in the third century of Rome. Emperor Claudius II decided single men make better soldiers than those with wives and families back home. He outlawed marriage for young men. St. Valentine defied Claudius and continued to perform marriages for young lover in secret. When away at war, young soldiers would write letters to their wives back home. Not wanting to get caught they would send it to “My Valentine”. Claudius discovered St. Valentine’s actions and Claudius ordered that he be put to death. Claudius was beheaded on Feb 14th. We celebrate the day a priest was beheaded and therefore, he will want revenge and it will start the zombie apocalypse. Valentine’s day has also been known for a pagan festival called Lupercalia, a fertility festival dedicated to Faunus a roman god of agriculture. They would gather at a sacred cave and sacrifice animals. The would touch their crops and women with the blood. Later in the day, the women would place their names in an urn. Young men in the city would choose a name, become paired for the year with his chosen woman. There are a lot of other theories about Valentine’s day that are a little more brutal so i will leave that out.

My mom used to get so mad because that’s all we would hear all day, every day. She would say things like “do we have to listen about germany again?” or “It sounds like a war is going on in the living room!” My father is where i get it from. All my random facts about history that i randomly spat out. I am also a super goofy person and i joke around about how Valentine’s day will be the start of the zombie apocalypse. I always get that weird look from people followed by “where do you learn this stuff?”. Sitting on the couch with my dad after a rough day was the best Valentine’s day.  

 

Leave a Reply

